Symposium on

Nonlinear Dynamics in Polymeric Systems

sponsored by the

Division of Polymer Chemistry and the Division of Physical Chemistry

August 18-22, 2002

American Chemical Society National Meeting

Boston, Massachusetts

Photos from the Symposium

Preliminary Program

Abstract/preprint Deadline: April 15, 2002


You are REQUIRED by the POLY Division to submit a preprint in order to participate. Both the abstract and preprints are submitted online --

First, prepare your preprint

Instructions for preparing a preprint

Submit abstract and preprint at this site, which is now open.

Scope: Nonlinear phenomena in reacting and nonreacting polymeric systems.

The field of nonlinear dynamics, especially in chemical systems, has made great strides in the past three decades. Oscillating chemical reactions, propagating fronts, far-from-equilibrium pattern formation, Turing structures and chaos are but some of the exotic phenomena observed.

There are at least two important reasons to investigate NLD in polymer systems:

1) The preparation of new polymeric materials and of current polymeric materials in new ways and

2) the discovery of new phenomena.

This symposium will bring together experts in nonlinear dynamics and polymer science to expand the fields of polymer science and nonlinear dynamics.





David Andelman (Tel Aviv University )

Yuji Asano (Kyoto University)

Viktor Barelko (Institute of Chemical Physics, Chernogolovka, Russia)

Mark Buchanan (Vrije Universiteit Amstredam)

Colin Crook (University of Sheffield)

Irving R. Epstein (Brandeis University)

Guy Dewel (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Jack Douglas (NIST)

Dionne Fortenberry (Mississippi University for Women)

Laura K. Gross (University of Akron)

Charles Han (NIST)

Olaf Karthaus (Chitose Institute of Science and Technology and PRESTO, Japan Science and Technology Corporation)

Masami Kawaguchi (Mie University, Japan)

Brian Korgel (University of Texas at Austin)

Eugenia Kumacheva (University of Toronto)

Lydia Lee Lewis (University of Southern Mississippi

Maria Liria Turco Liveri (Universita' di Palermo)

Michael Marder (University of Texas at Austin)

Alberto Mariani (Universita' degli Studi de Sassari)

Hiroshi Masuhara (Osaka University)

Kalman Migler (NIST)

Stefan Müller (Otto-von-Guericke-Universität)

Anish P. Dhanarajan(University of Minnesota)

Yoshiaki Takahashi (Kyushi University)

John Torkelson (Northwestern University)

Susan Tseng (Wagner College)

Juergen Vollmer (Max-Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz)

Vitaly Volpert (Université Lyon I)

Tomohiko Yamaguchi (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan)

Rio Yoshida (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Randy Washington (Florida State University)


An ACS Symposium Series book is planned.




John A. Pojman

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The University of Southern Mississippi

Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5043

(601) 266-5035

(425) 740-8514 (FAX)

Qui Tran-Cong-Miyata

Department of Polymer Science & Engineering

Kyoto Inst. of Technology

Matsugasaki Sakyoku, Kyoto 606 Japan